Staring at a Blank Screen

3:01 pm, Spanish on a cart (i.e.; in my classroom). I am trying to write my Slice. When we teach our students writing engagement, one of our go-to’s is environment. “Do I have a just-right spot?” I can hear myself saying that in my sleep. Here I am, contemplating what to write and I am drawing a blank. Perhaps it’s the lack of that perfect spot.

“Tengo …” they repeat as they bean bag toss with partners. “Tengo … yard.” “Tengo … house.” Their voices flood my mind and leave me with nothing but distraction.

Should I wait until later on tonight I wonder. I can’t tonight … I promised my husband and children I’d be present tonight because I was MIA all day yesterday.

So, here is my Slice. A Slice about the power of distraction and a lack of clarity. Tomorrow will be a new day-free of distraction for Slicing.

3 thoughts on “Staring at a Blank Screen

Leave a comment